Supporting the Arts Since 2010

Review: The LA Phil’s The Nutcracker at Disney Concert Hall

2022-12-05T06:28:15+00:00By |Art Parties / Exhibitions / Fairs, Music, Reviews|

Tis the season for “The Nutcracker” and it was most wonderfully presented by the LA Phil at the elegant and acoustically magnificent Disney Concert Hall. Gustavo Dudamel, the world renowned LA Phil Music and Artistic Director, masterfully conducted a rousing rendition

Comments Off on Review: The LA Phil’s The Nutcracker at Disney Concert Hall

Review: LA Opera’s Production of Puccini’s “Tosca” at the Music Center

2022-11-21T17:25:06+00:00By |Music, Reviews|

LA Opera continues its 2022/23 season at The Music Center with a revival of “Tosca,” Giacomo Puccini’s riveting drama of love, jealousy, depravity, and violence within a backdrop of religious and political turmoil. Soprano Angel Blue captivates as Tosca with her range

Comments Off on Review: LA Opera’s Production of Puccini’s “Tosca” at the Music Center

Review: Billy Cobham’s Crosswinds Project Shines at the Canyon Club

2022-09-13T22:38:06+00:00By |Music, Reviews|

Considered to be one of the best living jazz fusion drummers, Billy Cobham has performed with a slew of impressive musicians in the jazz and rock genres, including Miles Davis, Milt Jackson, Horace Silver, Bob Weir and The Mahavishnu Orchestra. This

Comments Off on Review: Billy Cobham’s Crosswinds Project Shines at the Canyon Club

Review: Hollywood Bowl, Sheryl Crow, Keb’ Mo’

2022-08-05T05:29:51+00:00By |Music, Reviews|

It was another beautiful night at the Hollywood Bowl, one of my favorite venues to experience live music here in LA. I am a longtime fan of Sheryl Crow (nine-time Grammy Winner) and thought Keb’ Mo’ (five-time Grammy Winner) was a great

Comments Off on Review: Hollywood Bowl, Sheryl Crow, Keb’ Mo’

Review: Wisdome LA, Miles Davis Birthday Celebration

2022-06-08T03:26:32+00:00By |Music, Reviews|

I first became aware of Miles Davis as an obsessed teenage music nerd. I loved an LA band called The Fents and when they released their first album, the keyboardist Adam Holzman invited my buddy and I to his pad in

Comments Off on Review: Wisdome LA, Miles Davis Birthday Celebration

Review: The Broad Stage, “ … (Iphigenia)”

2022-02-23T16:44:35+00:00By |Music, Reviews, Theater/Poetry/Books|

The classical Greek myth tells of Princess Iphigenia, daughter of King Agamemnon, who is ritually sacrificed to amend for the slaying of a sacred stag cherished by the goddess Artemis, who, in revenge, stops the winds from blowing and prevents the

Comments Off on Review: The Broad Stage, “ … (Iphigenia)”

Review: LA Opera’s 2021 production of “Cinderella” (“La Cenerentola”)

2021-11-26T20:07:11+00:00By |Music, Reviews, Theater/Poetry/Books|

Opening night was exciting from the moment I walked up the stairs of the Music Center and continued as I entered the plaza level. I could feel the excitement and magic in the air as many theatergoers including myself were back

Comments Off on Review: LA Opera’s 2021 production of “Cinderella” (“La Cenerentola”)

Review: Jennifer Holliday at the Wallis!

2021-11-26T20:08:51+00:00By |Music, Reviews, Theater/Poetry/Books|

Before there was Jennifer Hudson, there was Jennifer Holliday! No disrespect to Ms Hudson, she’s got all of our R-E-S-P-E-C-T, but Jennifer Holliday’s original portrayal of Effie in "Dreamgirls" back in 1981, was monumental. As someone who grew up in NYC

Comments Off on Review: Jennifer Holliday at the Wallis!

Review: LA Opera’s Production of Richard Wagner’s “Tannhäuser”

2021-10-20T18:26:32+00:00By |Music, Reviews, Theater/Poetry/Books|

An enthusiastic vaccinated and masked audience welcomed opening night of the LA Opera’s original production of Richard Wagner’s “Tannhäuser” conducted by James Conlon with tenor Issachach Savage in the leading role. Yulia Matochkina as Venus and Issachah Savage as Tannhauser

Comments Off on Review: LA Opera’s Production of Richard Wagner’s “Tannhäuser”
Go to Top